Why I Am a Christian…

13 Jun

PROVERBIALLY SPEAKING…
“A cheerful look brings joy to the heart, and good news gives health to the bones. He who listens to a life-giving rebuke will be at home among the wise. He who ignores discipline despises himself, but whoever heeds correction gains understanding. The fear of the LORD teaches a man wisdom, and humility comes before honor.”
(Prov. 15:30-33)

So many passages in Proverbs give a sense of ‘that makes sense’ or, ‘did I ever need to be reminded of that!’ This is one of them. And it also uses that ‘hot button’ phrase: ‘fear of the Lord’. I typically turn to alternates like ‘awe’ and ‘reverence’. But this is not saying I have any problem with the good old-fashioned “fear of the Lord”. Don’t you think we would have to be kind of crazy not to be fearful of someone who created all that exists from nothing?

Almighty God, how can we be anything but wildly grateful that–despite your Might and Power–you seek us with a strong, relentless hunger, to show us how much you love us! Forgive us, Gracious Abba. How, just like children, we prove each day how much we do need your gift of wisdom. Amen.

OTIS-SERIE
As I’ve shared, Beauty is in southern California visiting some of our children and ‘grands’. She is staying with Ken & Amy. I couldn’t help but be touched when I started toward the bedroom earlier. There, sitting before the hallway door, waiting for Beauty to come out, was Otis. He is a bowling-ball mix of Pug and Boston Terrier we ‘inherited’ from Amy & Ken. He is very well-trained, and an excellent watch dog. He and Mr. Ruggles make a daunting duo.

A couple of months ago, when we thought we might be losing Ruggles, Otis lay beside my ‘pound puppy’ (whom I got for us while Mary was in Denver several years back), and rested his head on Mr. Ruggles.

Yes, getting him was a big surprise! When I picked Beauty up at the airport, and pulled in front of the house, Ruggles jumped on the dining room table (at the big picture window!) I protested as inaccurate her claims that she just saw a dog in our house! But it was love at first wag!

If you like surprises, some time I’ll tell about our Catalina anniversary trip.


WHY I’M A CHRISTIAN
This may be rather disappointing to some; in particular, to any whom expect some treatise. It ain’t comin’, folks! As I believe I’ve shared previously, my ‘theology’ is pretty simple. My Statement of Faith is quite direct. I am aware of some of the objections to Christianity, such as, ‘the Bible is self-contradictory’, ‘a loving God would never do that‘, ‘Christianity is only for weaklings who need a crutch’, and ‘where do Christians get the right to “negate” the claims of other religions?’. The list is ‘Legion’ (to borrow from Scripture.)

The bottom line, for me, is that I have a personal relationship with Jesus. To pose it another way, could you deny the existence of someone you know? Me, neither. There have been so many times in my life–in sundry situations–where Jesus has been so present, and so significant, that only someone who is committed to being a dutiful-doubter, could doubt. Yes, that is my opinion, but it is also a belief based on–again, my–empiricism.

Yes, I know that’s not scientific empiricism. So what? By the way, I believe in science; no, I LOVE science! I don’t have any issues with evolution. If God chose to create through an evolution-like process, there is no reason I should tell God he should have done it a different way. That would be pointless, don’t you think?

This photo was taken in Tanzania. Behind me is the Oldupai Gorge in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area where Drs. Louis and Mary Leakey (and after them, son, Richard) made incredible fossil and bone discoveries about early man. I wanted to come here since elementary school. OlduVAI is an understandable mispronunciation by German scientists.


I can acknowledge the existence, love, caring, provision and steadfastness of God, because I ‘experience’ him through our daily relationship. Who do you think was the first to ever ask: “Can we talk?”

Doubt? Uncertainty? Curious? Totally convinced it’s all a bunch of ‘bunk’, of ‘crapola’? No problem.

Does it matter enough to you to ask him to prove himself to you? No games! Even if you do it as a joke, he just might amaze you!


After all, he IS the God of mystery, surprise, and amazement.

Leave a Reply

