Hey, Caveman! Walk upright…!

9 Jun

PROVERBIALLY SPEAKING…
“A happy heart makes the face cheerful, but heartache crushes the spirit. The discerning heart seeks knowledge, but the mouth of a fool feeds on folly. All the days of the oppressed are wretched, but the cheerful heart has a continual feast. Better a little with the fear of the LORD than great wealth with turmoil.”
(Prov. 15:13-16)

This passage–and so very many in Proverbs–make me feel like the ‘proverbial’ (sorry, couldn’t resist) two-faced man. How often do we present two different people to those with whom we interact in life, all the while convinced we are men or women of strong integrity and steadfastness.

Holy Spirit, grab our attention! Convict us of our haughtiness, but don’t leave us languishing in self-serving self-pity, pretending we want to repent, to truly ‘turn around’. Set our hearts on fire with a Fire for the Ages. Amen.

CAVEMAN…?
Well, that would be me (Steve; like I needed to clarify! Beauty would have been ‘Faerie Delight’. I refer you to George MacDonald’s “Phantastes, a Faerie Romance…”) Anyway, Beauty has been suggesting that I walk ‘straighter’. Without belaboring it, I guess I lean forward from the waist when I walk, although I think I’m ramrod straight. It has quickly become clear that this is going to take some time and effort.

Is it any wonder? Several years of hip and knee issues took its toll. I was just happy getting around, eventually with a cane. In chatting with a Fuller friend the day before she left for Texas, she mentioned, “Steve, in three years, I’ve never known you to not be in pain.” That pretty much tells the story.

I have now had enough parts replaced to authentically qualify as the $65 man. Beauty & I were both happy when, six weeks after hip replacement, we were able to go on a 5.5 mile hike out of Chantry Flat in the San Gabriels. Before heading home, we enjoyed some delicious pulled-pork at the Pack Station, and some (always interesting) conversation with several of the long-time area residents.

Its an odd feeling trying to re-learn correct posture. When I think I’m straight, her answer, more often than not, is “not quite”. It’s not until I feel like I’m practically about to fall over backwards that she tells me that I look pretty straight. All in all, I’m feeling strong and energetic.

PRESBYTERY IN THE PARK– “A Grand Affaire”
Our San Joaquin Presbytery enjoyed a “grand” day in Visalia. It was a nice combination of our Presbytery meeting, a lot of fun and fellowship, and a chance for our churches to display and demonstrate some of their ministry efforts. We’ve got a lot going on in the SAN JOAQUIN!

See Beauty’s POST, below.

More soon with photos.

PREACHING TOMORROW…
at Coalinga First. Worship begins at 10. C’mon by if you’re in the area.

Leave a Reply

