I can safely say , “You’re OUT…!” (maybe)

4 Jun

PROVERBIALLY SPEAKING…
“Does not wisdom call out? Does not understanding raise her voice? On the heights along the way, where the paths meet, she takes her stand; beside the gates leading into the city, at the entrances, she cries aloud: ‘To you, O men, I call out; I raise my voice to all mankind. You who are simple, gain prudence; you who are foolish, gain understanding. Listen, for I have worthy things to say; I open my lips to speak what is right. My mouth speaks what is true, for my lips detest wickedness. All the words of my mouth are just; none of them is crooked or perverse. To the discerning all of them are right; they are faultless to those who have knowledge. Choose my instruction instead of silver, knowledge rather than choice gold, for wisdom is more precious than rubies, and nothing you desire can compare with her.'” (Prov. 8:1-11)

spr: How many of us have looked back and thought, “Oh, I wish I had made that decision differently”? In my needfulness to learn more from my ever-expanding experience, I realize God is continuously offering us insight and discernment for better decision-making on many fronts; not just ‘religious stuff’. And he doesn’t beat us up for the past. WE do that to ourselves! God says, “Let’s move on to brighter and better days”, and better ways of facing decisions.

I love Proverbs, and the way it calls us to confront the realities of life, and the realities of ourselves. In this passage, the sage encourages that “You who are simple, gain prudence; you who are foolish, gain understanding.” To me, the gist of this book is that God reminds us that invitation is for all of us. If we think otherwise–‘Hey, I’m doing just fine, God’–he queries, ‘So, how’s that workin’ out for you?’ ‘C’mon, God! Didn’t everybody think F-bk stock was a no-brainer?’

God offers wisdom and understanding to all who eagerly ask and seek it!

Our prayer this morning is that, at the close of this day, we will have gained a greater sense of God’s goodness, and his aching desire to love us, and share the wonders of life with us. Thank you, Lord! Your blessings are bountiful; your wisdom more than sufficient for the challenges of my life. Amen.

WHO’S ON FIRST…? WHERE is first?
This morning, Beauty and I will be umpiring our Coalinga elementary vs. faculty softball game. Maybe we should have asked long-time National League umpire, Doug Harvey, who is a member of a good friend’s church in our Presbytery!

A while ago, I looked at her and asked if she was going to go ‘like that’, with paint on her pants. She looked at what I was talking about, and–just to make sure I got the message–said, “That’s not paint; that’s a design!” OK, I’M ready to go umpire. At least I’m wearing my Wilson Knights cap from when I used to substitute in Glendale.

This could get ugly!

DOUG DILLARD
I was saddened to learn of the death of banjo-picker Doug Dillard. He was 75, and had been in poor health. Coming so soon after the passing of Earl Scruggs, I suppose it’s finally time for me to step up and help fill the gap.

That “THUD” you just heard was my buddy, Mark Vidito, hitting the ground in disbelief. I didn’t ask his permission to make him even more famous than he already is, so if he objects, just pretend you never read this.

BEAUTY IN ACTION…
Here’s a good chance to see Beauty being Beauty…!

PREACHING ON THE CALENDAR
I (Steve) will be preaching the next two Sundays.

BLESSINGS ON YOUR WEEK…
For us, it’s going to be a crazy-busy one!

One Response to “I can safely say , “You’re OUT…!” (maybe)”

  1. madmonkeymusic June 6, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    I too enjoyed Doug’s music and am sad about his loss – but the “thud” everyone heard was a happy “thud” because it makes me smile every time you mention your love for the banjo. May you continue to play it often – even if your family insists that it be in a soundproof room in another town. Sent with a hug – MV

Leave a Reply

