Lost a Special Friend

4 May

I (Steve) received word that a special, and long-time friend passed away last night.

I first met him at church when I was about nine.  As adults, he would hire me for what became my career in aerospace.

He used to coach our church’s men’s softball team.  I typically played left field.  One day I went to him with a modest request.  “You know, Ralph, it’s a long, long way out to left field.  I think it would be a great idea if you got me a golf cart.  We could park it right over there. When it was time to take the field, I could drive it out to Left, and leave it by the fence, out of play.  That would save me a lot of energy, and keep me at the top of my game.”  [At the time, I was in pretty good shape!]

Ralph looked at me with a quizzical stare; disbelief in his eyes.  It was a long stare, until he just began to laugh–more and more–and finally turned away, still laughing, and muttering something about, “I can’t believe what I just heard!”

He leaves many good memories, and will be missed.

Leave a Reply

